Autobiography of Mark Twain, Vol. 1

Autobiography of Mark Twain, Vol. 1

Average: 0 | Total Ratings: 0
Title Autobiography of Mark Twain, Vol. 1
Author Mark Twain
Narrator Grover Gardner
Publisher Blackstone Audio
Publish Date 10-23-2010
Series # ,
Edition Unabridged
Length 24 hours 46 minutes 
Award  AudioFile Earphones Award , Winner , 2010 ;  Publishers Weekly Listen-Up Award , Winner , 2010
ISBN-13 9781441778468
Date Added 02-03-2014
“I’ve struck it!” Mark Twain wrote in a 1904 letter to a friend. “And I will give it away--to you. You will never know how much enjoyment you have lost until you get to dictating your autobiography.” Thus, after dozens of false starts and hundreds of pages, Twain embarked on his “Final (and Right) Plan” for telling the story of his life. His innovative notion--to “talk only about the thing which interests you for the moment”--meant that his thoughts could range freely. The strict instruction that many of these texts remain unpublished for one hundred years meant that when they came out, he would be “dead, and unaware, and indifferent,” and that he was therefore free to speak his “whole frank mind.” The year 2010 marked the one hundredth anniversary of Twain’s death. In celebration of this important milestone, here, for the first time, is Mark Twain’s uncensored autobiography, in its entirety, exactly as he left it. This major literary event offers the first of three volumes and presents Mark Twain’s authentic and unsuppressed voice, brimming with humor, ideas, and opinions, and speaking clearly from the grave, as he intended.
Cost:   2 Credit

Add Your Comment