The Forsyte Saga

The Forsyte Saga

Average: 0 | Total Ratings: 0
Title The Forsyte Saga
Narrator Fred Williams
Publisher Blackstone Audio
Publish Date 01-01-2006
Series # The Forsyte Chronicles,#1 - 5
Edition Unabridged
Length 42 hours 40 minutes 
Award  Nobel Prize in Literature , Winner , 1932
ISBN-13 9781433296048
Date Added 03-14-2014
The three novels that make up The Forsyte Saga chronicle the ebbing social power of the commercial upper-middle class Forsyte family through three generations, beginning in Victorian London during the 1880s and ending in the early 1920s. Galsworthy's masterly narrative examines not only their fortunes but also the wider developments within society, particularly the changing position of women.

The Forsyte Saga is a sequence of novels comprising The Man of Property (1906), In Chancery (1920), and To Let (1921) with two interludes, "Indian Summer of a Forsyte" (1918) and "Awakening", published together in 1922.

The saga begins with Soames Forsyte, a successful solicitor who buys land at Robin Hill on which to build a house for his wife Irene and future family. Eventually, the Forsyte family begins to disintegrate when Timothy Forsyte, the last of the old generation, dies at the age of 100.

In these novels, John Galsworthy documented a departed way of life, that of the affluent middle class that ruled England before the 1914 war. The class is criticized on account of its possessiveness, but there is also nostalgia because Galsworthy, as a man born into the class, could also appreciate its virtues.

Originally published as five books between 1906 and 1921.

Cost:   2 Credit

Add Your Comment